New Ink Drawings of Heads

I tend to do a goodly number of drawings of the human head. These are mostly all from my imagination…it seems I’m endlessly chasing the ultimate conception of the human head and face. The inspiration comes from every drawing of a head I’ve ever seen and liked, from the old masters through comic books. Maybe one day I shall draw the ultimate version of a head and then stop…naah…

Image

Young Bacchus, 2012, brush & ink on paper, 14″ x 11″.

Image

Melancholy Ancient Head and Tower, 2012, brush & ink on paper, 14″ x 11″.

Image

Head of an Old Man, 2012, brush & ink on paper, 14″ x 11″.

Image

Primavera, 2012, brush & ink on cardboard, 12″ x 12″ approx.

, ,

  1. #1 by whatsupyournose on March 14, 2012 - 9:54 am

    I like the Melancholy Ancient Head and Tower best because it makes me think of the old lady from the Wife of Bath’s tale from The Canterbury Tales! Nicely done!

  2. #2 by aytonart on March 14, 2012 - 11:10 am

    Thanks!

  3. #3 by Van Odell on April 14, 2012 - 6:49 pm

    I Love the contour hatching, and the symmetry is fantastic, Bravo!

Leave a Reply

