My new brush pen

Recently, I’ve been using a brush pen (made by Pentel) in my drawings. It was a little pricey ($16 from a local craft store chain) & only came with 2 ink cartridges (I’ve found I can refill the cartridges with regular ink — a little messy, but worth it economically speaking). In any case, I’ve found that the brush pen gives a very usable flowing organic line that is mostly brush-like, but sometimes marker-like. I’d prefer if the the pen gave more of a fine art “brushy” line, but it’s more than fine for now, & hopefully at some point the technology involved will improve and close the gap. Apart from the quality of the lines it produces, the main benefit of the brush pen is that I don’t have to constantly dip the brush into an ink pot, which makes drawing easier and faster. Here are some of my more recent drawings with the instrument in question:

Primavera Unraveling

Primavera Unraveling

The Head that Imagined Itself into Existence

The Head that Imagined Itself into Existence

Among the Roots of a Great Tree

Among the Roots of a Great Tree

All of the above drawings are done with the brush pen on paper sized 16.5″ x 14″, & all are from 2011.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

