My Artist’s Statement

From time to time, I’m asked or required to write some kind of artist’s statement. Today, this came up again when an online magazine (webzine, I guess) asked me to do this for a small article they were putting together. Here it is:

William T. Ayton’s work deals with myth, social issues, imagination and the human condition. Art is a means of reaching out to other souls in the hope of finding some kind of connection. There isn’t much else to say.

It always seems to me that art is either too complex to be reduced to a short paragraph, or it should be self-evident. However, I thought the above wasn’t bad. The artist’s statements I prefer to read tend to deviate from the norm (whatever that is) anyway. Not that I spend a lot of time reading artist’s statements…

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

